Meet the Rider Training Team

Meet the saltire motorcycles rider training team

John

John

DAS Instructor

Former hotel manager. Instructor for 5 years, originally as part time hobby.

Full time with Saltire Motorcycles since 2014. DAS instructor since February 2016.

Riding bikes forever. At last 45 years. Current bike Suzuki 650 DL for work and Honda 1000 Varadero for personal use.

Intrests: music, especially but not exclusively Rock and Blues. The natural world. Rugby League passionate Wigan Warriors supporter. The plight of indigenous people throughout the world in particular the Native Indians of North America.

Swimmer as often as possible. I should have been born with gills.

Dream car either mark 1 Lotus Cortina or original Mini Cooper S.

Dream bike, I have never ridden a bike I didn’t enjoy and I try not to dream when I’m on a bike. So really whichever bike I am riding at the time. If pushed, the first big bike I ever road was a BSA Shooting Star so that would be a great piece of nostalgia for me. Modern any big Indian. Despite the apparent bulk, they are a joy to ride.

Colin

Colin

DAS Instructor

Retired police officer.

CBT Instructor for the past 3 years, originally as a part-time hobby.

Joined Saltire Rider Training, spring 2019. Qualified as a DAS instructor, April 2019.

Riding bikes since the age of 17, so 40 years.

Member of the Institute of Advanced Motorists since 2017. Advanced rider and observer.

Current bike – Saltire’s Yamaha Tracer 900 for work, and my Harley Davidson Street Bob FXDB 1690cc for play.

Interests: My family, motorbikes, my bike club, motorbikes, instructing others, motorbikes, self-improvement, motorbikes, protecting children in sport, motorbikes, classical music, motorbikes, walking the dog, motorbikes, oh and motorbikes.

Lifelong passion for sport: 5th Dan in judo and head coach of Peebles Judo Club, established over 20 years ago. Also love skiing, scuba diving and tennis.

Dream car:  a motorbike…..

Dream bike, one that doesn’t break down…. Saying that, I’d love to own a vintage Ariel, or a BSA or similar…

James

DAS Instructor

Coming soon…

Brian

Brian

CBT Instructor

Before coming a CBT instructor I worked at Edinburgh International Climbing Centre and before that I was in the Fire service.

I have had over 40 years experience on bikes including commuting, socialising, road racing and touring in Europe, Morocco and Australia.

At the moment I have 4 bikes. A 1971 Suzuki B120, a 1972 Suzuki GT750, a 1975 Suzuki B120 and a 1980 Suzuki GS 550. Can you see a theme?

My loves outside bikes are my family, Manchester City football club (don’t hold that against me) and keeping fit.

I try to do triathlons and when I say try I mean try! I look forward to meeting you and sharing experiences.

Grant

Part Time DAS Instructor

Coming soon…